Adaptation of Language Resources and Technology to New Domains (AdaptLRTtoND)

Borovets, Bulgaria, 17 September, 2009

RANLP 2009 Workshop

The Workshop is endorsed by FLaReNet Project

The Workshop is related to CLARIN Project

Workshop Programme


It is widely acknowledged that despite the great advances in Computational Linguistics nowadays, the creation of new Language Resources (LR) and Language Technology (LT) for a new domain or task is still quite expensive and time-consuming. At the same time there are already a lot of varieties of LR and LT, developed for various languages and purposes. What happens when new tasks come? Do we have to develop new resources and technology from the beginning, or can we re-use or adapt the existent ones? Last, but not least alternative is to combine both strategies depending on the task. The first option seems reasonable when richer and larger data is needed for the new applications. The second option is justified only if such a resource or technology does not exist at all, or some new approach is applied. The third one is the ever ‘compromising’, but also very realistic option.

As the machine learning techniques have matured enough to successfully support real applications within various domains, a new bottleneck became the requirement for large and adequate training data for input. Thus, the NLP community faced the question of the relevant LR and LT adaptation. It concerns the operability between general domain NLP toolkits and specific domain tasks with respect to terminology, language, structure, steps of preprocessing etc.

Thus, the Workshop is devoted to various methods for transferring the linguistic knowledge and supportive technology from the existing language resources in one domain into a different one.


  • parameters of adaptivity and re-usability of LR and LT
  • methods for adaptation of existing NLP resources to specific tasks
  • domain specific requirements to the LR and LT
  • general domain vs. specific domain processing
  • profiling LR
  • extrapolation of richer annotations to large data
  • evaluation of adapted LR and LT


  • Núria Bel, Pompeu Fabra University
  • Erhard Hinrichs, Tuebingen University (co-chair)
  • Petya Osenova, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences and Sofia University
  • Kiril Simov, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences (co-chair)

Invited speaker

Atanas Kiryakov, OntoText AD, Sofia, Bulgaria

Submission details

Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract up to 800 words. Abstracts should describe existing research connected to the topics of the workshop. The following formats are accepted: PDF, PS, MS Word, ASCII text. Each submission should provide the following information: title; author(s); affiliation(s); and contact author’s e-mail address, postal address.

The abstracts should be sent electronically to:
Petya Osenova
by the deadline listed below. The submissions will be reviewed by the workshop’s programme committee.

The accepted papers will appear in the workshop proceedings. The final paper should not exceed 15 A4 pages formatted according RANLP09 guidelines.

Important Dates

  • Deadline for abstract submission: 21st June 2009
  • Notification of acceptance: 21st July 2009
  • Final version of the papers: 23rd August 2009

Program Committee

  • Núria Bel, Pompeu Fabra University
  • Gosse Bouma, Groningen University
  • António Branco, Lisbon University
  • Walter Daelemans, Antwerp University
  • Markus Dickinson, Indiana University
  • Erhard Hinrichs, Tuebingen University
  • Josef van Genabith, Dublin City University
  • Iryna Gurevych, Technische Universität Darmstadt – UKP Lab
  • Atanas Kiryakov, Ontotext AD
  • Vladislav Kubon, Charles University
  • Sandra Kuebler, Indiana University
  • Lothar Lemnitzer, DWDS, Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • Bernardo Magnini, FBK
  • Detmar Meurers, Tuebingen University
  • Paola Monachesi, Utrecht University
  • Preslav Nakov, National University of Singapore
  • John Nerbonne, Groningen University
  • Petya Osenova, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences and Sofia University
  • Gabor Proszeky, MophoLogic
  • Adam Przepiorkowski, Polish Academy of Sciences
  • Marta Sabou, Open University – UK
  • Kiril Simov, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
  • Cristina Vertan, Hamburg University